UW Health Physicians Honored in Madison Magazine's 2016 Top Doctors Survey

UW Health logoMadison, Wisconsin - For its biennial Top Doctors feature, Madison Magazine asks doctors in the Madison area which local physicians they would recommend to friends, family members and loved ones.


Physicians designated as "Top Doctors" in each category are the top three winners that garnered 10 percent or more of the votes, according to Madison Magazine's survey methodology.


In categories that list more than three winners, more than three doctors received the top 10 percent of the vote.


Service to Community and Profession Awards


In addition to the Top Doctors listed by specialty below, two UW Health physicians received special honors in the Madison Magazine survey:

  • Dr. Patricia Tellez-Giron was honored with the Service to Community Award, in which physicians were asked to nominate a fellow doctor who "uses his or her knowledge and expertise to make a significant difference in the welfare of Madisonians."
  • Dr. Jeffrey Grossman received the Service to Profession Award, given to the doctor nominated by peers for "his or her extraordinary work in advancing the practice of medicine."

2016 Top Doctors


Listed below are the UW Health providers who were named to the 2016 Top Doctors list. To learn more about these doctors, you may view their bios in our Find a Doctor search.


Addiction Treatment
Randall Brown
Richard Webb

Aleksandra Zgierska


Allergy and Immunology

Mark Moss

Thomas Puchner


Arthritis and Rheumatology

Christie Bartels
Kevin McKown


Cardiovascular Medicine
Michael Field

James Stein


Complementary and Integrative Health
David Rakel

Adam Rindfleisch


Critical Care Medicine
Pierre Kory

John McCartney

Charles Weber


George Reizner


Emergency Medicine
Azita Hamedani

Joshua Ross


Endocrinology, Diabetes, Metabolism
Diane Elson

Family Medicine

Jacqueline Gerhart

David Ringdahl


Geriatric Medicine

Steven Barczi

Alexis Eastman

Irene Hamrick (also practices Family Medicine)

Amy Kind
Kathleen Walsh


Eliot Williams


Immediate/Urgent Care

Kris Knoepke

Steven Tyska


Infectious Disease
Dennis Maki


Medical Genetics

Gregory Rice

Jessica Scott Schwoerer
David Wargowski



Micah Chan

Arjang (Aji) Djamali

Laura Maursetter



Brad Beinlich

Frederick Edelman (Pediatric Neurology)

David Hsu (Pediatric Neurology)


Bermans Iskandar (Pediatric Neurosurgery)


Oncology, Surgical

Clifford Cho
Sharon Weber
Emily Winslow


Oncology, Gynecologic

Ahmed Al-Niaimi

Lisa Barroilhet

David Kushner

Laurel Rice

Oncology, Medical
Howard Bailey

Sam Lubner


Oncology, Hematological
Natalie Callander (Hematology)


Oncology, Radiation
Michael Bassetti

Kristin Bradley
Mark Ritter


Gregg Heatley

Heather Potter


Gregory Hartig


Palliative Medicine

Toby Campbell
James Cleary


Erik Ranheim


Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine

Paula Cody

Lindsay Geier


Pediatric Allergy, Asthma and Immunology

James Gern

Mark Moss


Pediatric Anesthesiology

Maria Fabbrocini

Cari Meyer

Lianne Stephenson

Ben Walker


Pediatric Cardiovascular Medicine

Luke Lamers

Kathleen Maginot

Amy Peterson

J. Carter Ralphe 


Pediatric Diabetes and Endocrinology

David Allen

Tracey Bekx

Ellen Connor


Pediatric Gastroenterology

Istvan Danko

Daniel O'Connell

Luther Sigurdsson

Dorota Walkiewicz


Pediatric Genetics

Gregory Rice

Jessica Scott Schwoerer

David Wargowski


Pediatric Hematology and Oncology

Carol Diamond

Margo Hoover-Regan

Diane Puccetti

Paul Sondel


Pediatric Hospitalist

Sabrina Butteris

Ryan Coller

Shannon Dean

Dan Sklansky


Pediatric Otolaryngology

Diane Heatley

Tony Kille

J. Scott McMurray

Pediatric Psychiatry

William Bill Taft


Pediatric Pulmonary Disease

Sima Ramratnam

Don Sanders

Mary Schroth


Pediatric Rheumatology

Anna Huttenlocher

Judith Smith 

Grant Syverson



Art Walaszek


Pulmonary Disease
Richard Cornwell

Nizar Jarjour

James Runo


Rehabilitation Medicine

Kimberly Arndt (Orthopedic Surgery)

Stacey Hall (Pediatric Rehabilitation Medicine)

James Leonard

Deborah McLeish


Reproductive Endocrinology/Infertility
Christina Broadwell

Daniel Lebovic

Dan Williams


Sleep Medicine
Ruth Benca

Mary Klink
Cami Matthews (Pediatric Sleep Medicine)


Spine Medicine
Paul Anderson

James Leonard


Sports Medicine
David Bernhardt

Stroke Medicine

E. Luke Bradbury

Marcus Chacon

Matthew Jensen

Justin Sattin


Surgery, Bariatric
Michael Garren
Jacob Greenberg


Surgery, Cardiothoracic
Nilto De Oliveira

Takushi Kohmoto

Surgery, Colon/Rectal
Charles Heise


Surgery, Hand/Microsurgery

Jonathan Tueting
Stefan Zachary


Surgery, Plastic and Reconstructive
Michael Bentz


Surgery, Thoracic

Justin Blasberg

Ryan Macke

James Maloney


Surgery, Transplantation
Anthony D'Alessandro

Luis Fernandez

David Foley

Joshua Mezrich


Surgery, Vascular
Charles (CW) Acher
Jon Matsumura
Gretchen (Margaret) Schwarze

Suresh (Mitu) Agarwal

Lee Faucher

Ann O'Rourke


Travel Medicine
Richard Reich


Stephen Nakada

Date Published: 03/23/2016

News tag(s):  recognitioncareersawards

News RSS Feed