UW Health Lauds 2015 Patient Experience Champions

Madison, Wisconsin - UW Health recently honored 64 providers with its fourth annual Patient Experience Physician Champion Awards and its second annual Advanced Practice Provider Champion Awards.


The awards were presented to providers whose scores on patient satisfaction surveys ranked among the top 20 percent of UW Health providers surveyed in 2014.


These providers achieved the highest level of exemplary communication skills as recognized by their clinic patients. Responses from three questions on the Avatar survey determined the award winners:

  • My provider showed concern and sensitivity to my needs
  • I was given the chance by my provider to provide input to decisions about my health care
  • My provider explained my illness or treatment in a way I could understand

Eighteen Primary Care providers were among the 54 physician award winners: Eight Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine physicians, six Internal Medicine providers, three Family Medicine physicians and one Geriatrician.


Twenty-one specialty areas were represented among the other 36 physician recipients, including seven from Hematology/Medical Oncology, three from Plastic Surgery and two each from Cardiovascular Medicine, Endocrinology, General Surgery, Otolaryngology, Pulmonary Medicine, Radiation Oncology and Vascular Surgery. Four physicians were honored for the third time in the award's four-year history.


The fifth annual Patient Experience Physician Champion Awards will be presented in summer 2016, based on patient satisfaction scores from 2015.


2015 UW Health Patient Experience Physician Champion Award Winners


Primary Care


Brittany J. Allen, MD, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine
Bruce Baranski, MD, General Internal Medicine
Richard T. DeWitt, MD, General Internal Medicine
Ann E. Evensen, MD, Family Medicine
Lindsay M. Geier, MD, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine
*Julie A. Gocey, MD, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine
Joan E. Hamblin, MD, Family Medicine
Laura M. Houser, MD, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine
Lisa M. Kaufman, MD, General Internal Medicine
Gwenevere C. McIntosh, MD, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine
**Thomas D. Meier, MD, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine
*Amy J. Plumb, MD, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine
*Ann M. Schmidt, MD, General Internal Medicine
*Christine S. Seibert, MD, FACP, General Internal Medicine,

*Jeffrey S. Sleeth, MD, Pediatric and Adolescent Medicine
Cassandra J.V. Valmadrid, MD, MHS, General Internal Medicine
Lee M. Vogel, MD, Family Medicine
David T. Watts, MD, Geriatrics


Specialty Care

Bethany M. Anderson, MD, Radiation Oncology
Daniel D. Bennett, MD, Dermatology
Lisa M. Brinn, MD, Urgent Care
Siobhan M. Byrne, MD, Gastroenterology
**Natalie Callander, MD, Hematology/Medical Oncology
*Dustin A. Deming, MD, Hematology/Medical Oncology
*Robert J. Dempsey, MD, Neurosurgery
Brent D. Dumermuth, MD, Obstetrics and Gynecology
*Diane F. Elson, MD, Endocrinology
John O. Fleming, MD, Neurology
*Justin L. Gottlieb, MD, Ophthalmology
Karen E. Hansen, MD, MS, Rheumatology
Paul M. Harari, MD, Radiation Oncology
*Robert B. Hegeman, MD, Hematology/Medical Oncology
*David L. Hei, MD, Hematology/Medical Oncology
Kurt S. Hoffmayer, MD, Cardiovascular Medicine
*Mark B. Juckett, MD, Hematology/Medical Oncology
Tony L. Kille, MD, Otolaryngology
Ryan A. Macke, MD, Cardiothoracic Surgery
*Bradley L. Manning, MD, Plastic Surgery
Jon S. Matsumura, MD, Vascular Surgery
*Kevin S. McAllister, MD, Pulmonary Medicine
Patrick E. McBride, MD, MPH, FACC, Cardiovascular Medicine
*John G. McCartney, MD, Pulmonary Medicine
**Deborah McLeish, MD, MS, Rehabilitation Medicine
*Melissa Meredith, MD, Endocrinology
Delora L. Mount, MD, FACS, FAAP, Plastic Surgery
Daniel J. Ostlie, MD, Pediatric Surgery
Samuel O. Poore, MD, PhD, Plastic Surgery
**Thomas C. Puchner, MD, Allergy
Jennifer L. Rehm, MD, Pediatric Endocrinology
*Margaret L. Schwarze, MD, Vascular Surgery
Amy L. Stella, MD, Hematology/Medical Oncology
Lee G. Wilke, MD, General Surgery
*Emily Winslow, MD, FACS, General Surgery
Kari B. Wisinski, MD, Hematology/Medical Oncology


2015 UW Health Patient Experience Advanced Practice Provider Award Winners


*Sarah B. Affeldt, PA-C, Infectious Disease

Martine Batson, NP, Urgent Care
Carol H. Carr, CNM, Midwifery
Kathleen Hoffland, NP, Geriatrics
*Heidi Hughes, PA-C, General Internal Medicine
Melissa M. Kaminsky, CNM, Midwifery
Terri A. Michel, NP, Obstetrics and Gynecology
Megan F. Peterson, NP, Gynecologic Oncology
*Heidi A. Smedal, AuD, CCC-A Otolaryngology
Rose A. Staden, NP, Infectious Disease


* - Previous recipient

Date Published: 09/02/2015

News RSS Feed