About Lymphomas

Cancer Connect

Contact us for new appointment scheduling and information

Contact UW Carbone Cancer Center

(608) 262-5223

(800) 622-8922

Lymphoma is a disease in which cancerous cells form in the lymph system and is classified as Hodgkin or non-Hodgkin lymphoma.
Hodgkin lymphoma begins when a lymphocyte (usually a B-cell) becomes abnormal. These abnormal cells (called Reed-Sternberg cells) divide again and again, making more and more abnormal cells. The abnormal cells don't die when they should. They don't protect the body from infections or other diseases. The buildup of extra cells often forms a mass of tissue called a growth or tumor. There are two major types of Hodgkin lymphoma: classical Hodgkin lymphoma (most common) and nodular lymphocyte-predominant Hodgkin lymphoma (rare).
Non-Hodgkin lymphoma is the name of a large group of cancers of lymphocytes (white blood cells). These types can be divided into aggressive (fast-growing) and indolent (slow-growing) types, and they can be formed from either B-cells or T-cells.
B-cell non-Hodgkin lymphomas include Burkitt lymphoma, chronic lymphocytic leukemia/small lymphocytic lymphoma (CLL/SLL), diffuse large B-cell lymphoma, follicular lymphoma, immunoblastic large cell lymphoma, precursor B-lymphoblastic lymphoma, waldenstrom’s macroglobulinemia, mantle cell lymphoma, and primary central nervous system.
T-cell non-Hodgkin lymphomas include mycosis fungoides, anaplastic large cell lymphoma, and precursor T-lymphoblastic lymphoma.
UWCCC physicians care for patients who have been diagnosed with all these types of lymphomas. 

Diagnosis and Treatment