Practice Model Continuum

The Practice Model Continuum (PMC) provides a structured framework and defines elements of practice across all four practice levels and contains five major themes:
  • Performance Skills
  • Professional Behaviors
  • Interpersonal Abilities
  • Clinical Decision Making 
  • Administration/Education/Outreach/Research Activities
Each theme has several sub-themes or topic areas that identify practice attributes which are expected from staff and are valued by the organization.
The PMC provides objectivity to staff in terms of how their practice will be assessed at each level and what practice elements must be achieved in order to advance to higher levels of practice.
Therapists are not expected to meet every bullet point in the PMC within each level of practice. However, patient care criteria is expected to be met consistently across themes and sub-themes for a given practice level, and that criteria from at least two (2) additional areas (i.e. administration, education, outreach, and research) also are met consistently across themes and sub-themes.
Practice at any level will be assessed using criteria from that level and from any level below it. All patient care criteria are listed with a "P" at the end of any applicable bullet point.
The PMC sets different performance expectations at each level, and these expectations increase as therapists advance to higher levels of practice, especially at the Advanced Clinician and Expert Clinician levels. These higher practice expectations require additional leadership and mentorship from clinical staff as well as contributions to the organization, community, and respective profession.
More opportunities are provided for professional development of staff, especially those at the Entry Clinician and Clinician levels.