Skip to main content Skip to footer
American Family Children's Hospital
SHARE TEXT
 

Staff Spotlight: Jacqueline Landry

UW Health Fitness Center Instructor Jacqueline LandryWe are delighted to introduce Jacqueline Landry as the latest addition to the UW Health Fitness Center staff. Jacqui joined us this spring after completing a degree in Exercise Science at Michigan Tech University.

 

Jacqui was born and raised in Menasha, WI. Jacqui is one of 3 sisters. She beat her twin sister (Samantha) into this world by 8 minutes (and claims to not finishing behind her since…). Her parents were both special education teachers.

 

 

Jacqui had an active childhood playing sports of all kinds (frequently coached by her father). Volleyball, basketball, and especially soccer fueled her competitive spirit. She played each of these for Menasha High School including earning many accolades/honors as a soccer goalkeeper. Jacqui accepted a scholarship to play soccer at Michigan Tech and played for the MTU Huskies for 2 seasons.

 

 

Jacqui stays fit and active by strength training, bicycling, roller blading, and participating in various paddle sports. She loves recreation that is on or in the water. She particularly likes fishing – an activity she especially enjoys at her family’s cabin in Eagle River.

 

 

Now living in Madison (her twin sister is one of her roommates), Jacqui also works for Interra Health performing biometric health screenings. She is very interested in Recreation Management and is considering returning to school in 2017 to pursue this field.

 

 

We’re happy to have Jacqui on our team and hope that you get the chance to meet her soon. Now, how about a few words from Jacqui herself:

 

A Q&A with Jacqui

 

Why did you choose this profession?


I have always enjoyed being active and learning about the body and how exercise and movement affect it. My goal coming out of college was to work in a field where I can share my knowledge with others and help them improve or maintain their health and quality of life.

 

What do you like about working here?


I enjoy getting to know the members and helping them with their health goals.

 

Hometown: Menasha, WI

 

Current residence: Madison

 

Birthday: March 29

 

Family: Twin sister (Sam) and older sister (Jamie), Mother (Teri)

 

Pets: A miniature Dachsund named Leo

 

Favorite music: Classic Rock – Bruce Springsteen is my favorite

 

Favorite color: Ocean blue

 

Favorite TV show: Parks and Recreation

 

Favorite movies: It’s a Wonderful Life, Silver Linings Playbook, Across the Universe

 

Favorite foods: Pumpkin bread, sushi, meatloaf

 

Favorite vacation spots (thus far): Family cabin in Eagle River and Catalina Island 

 

Favorite sports team: Green Bay Packers

 

People I admire: My mom and dad 

 

Something very few people know about me that I’m willing to divulge here: I like to make fishing lures.